Children’s Resources

Access PA Kids Catalog:
The Kids Catalog provides a fun and simple-to-use interface that helps kids discover books. Home Access.

BBC Animals:
Find out about a variety of animals, where and how they live, and the latest news about them.

BookFlix:
An online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks with related nonfiction eBooks to build a love of reading and learning. Home Access

CyberSmarts:
Interactive collection for grades 3 – 6. Offers users a safe, simulated Internet experience with hands-on instruction on how to deal with important online safety issues. Home Access

Elementary Student Search:
Use this fun, easy-to-use resource to discover reliable information on thousands of topics covering a wide range of subjects including art and music, literature, language arts, geography, history, social studies, world cultures and languages, science, technology, engineering, mathematics, health and sports. Home Access

Explora: Public Libraries:
Try the new Explora search interface to search across different eResources and find curated lists on popular topics. Home Access

Funology:
A site for kids’ activities, experiments, games, magic tricks, jokes and more.  For ages 9 and up.

Little Pim:Little_Pim_color
Interactive online language learning program for children. Languages include: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish.

Middle Search Student Search:
Full text for a variety of popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Home Access

NoveList K-8:
Information about more than 38,000 fiction titles of interest to students in grades K-8. Full text reviews from professional journals and book talks for selected titles are available in this database. A good resource to expand student reading interest by introducing new authors or additional books in a subject area. Home Access

SIRS Discoverer:
Provides carefully selected full text articles and images from over 1600 domestic and international newspapers, magazines, and government documents. Home Access

TumbleBook Library:
TumbleBooks add animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books, producing an electronic picture book which you can read or have read to you.  You’ll also find chapter books, math stories, puzzles and games, and videos. All content is available for PCs and Macs. Some content is also  available for use on iPhones/iPads.  To access, select “mobile” from the “Choose” menu in the top right corner. Home Access

Comments are closed